“What happens to a dream deferred?
Does it dry up like a raisin in the sun?
Or fester like a sore and then run?
Does it stink like rotten meat?
Or crust and sugar over like a syrupy sweet?
Maybe it just sags like a heavy load.
Or does it explode?” – Langston Hughes

This is my first post after months of procrastination. I am 25 and jobless. I have been for almost a year despite having a Masters degree from a top 10 school in international affairs, a bachelors from a top 10 school overall, being fluent in four languages, and having had various jobs from groundskeeper to consultant since I was 14 years old. I feel like a failure and think that employers look at my application and wonder what is wrong with me because I have yet to be hired.

Since this blog is an opportunity to explore all those issues, those that myself and others are facing, I won’t address them all right now. I feel the poem above summarizes my emotions throughout this never-ending journey as at this point it’s not a matter of if, but rather when I will reach my breaking point…and I have come close.

Dream Deferred

3 thoughts on “Dream Deferred

  1. Claire says:

    So sad to feel your despair, although in my 63 years I have certainly been there regularly. At the risk of flogging the obvious, with linguistic abilities I would have thought companies dealing in those countries whose language you speak would have use for you just for that alone. The State Dept should be interested in someone who is well versed in international affairs. You could even teach it in a community college. Of course, you haven’t mentioned exactly what you had originally hoped for. Anyway, please don’t break just yet – as hope deferred makes the heart sick, so does what you fear come upon you. There IS a job out there for you – just don’t repel it with negativity.

    • Whitney H says:

      Thank you for your comment, and especially your optimism. I think while I was in school I was more hopeful, I wouldn’t necessarily say optimistic though because I usually considered myself to be a realist. I bought into the idea of education being an “investment” and designed to “help you get your foot in the door” but now I truly believe that’s a myth.

      I actually hadn’t thought about working at a community college, so I’ll definitely look into that some more. I realize that I have not yet gone more into my back story and I will try to get to that on the next posts. But to briefly mention my career goals, I didn’t go to school of graduate with a specific job title in mind. I studied international affairs and languages, enjoyed it, and so my preferred job would be one where I could use my knowledge of global issues and foreign language in some research and analytical capacity. I initially focused on nonprofit and government work, but switched to the private sector when I wasn’t getting calls for interviews from the other sectors. I actually interned for State, which was a joke, and took the Foreign Seevice Officer Test twice. To become an FSO is a more lengthy process and you don’t just apply. Something similar could be said for the UN. And I have a very good friend who speaks fluent Mandarin and is brillant and socially conscious, and all she wants is to be a FSO, but she wasn’t offered an internship and was rejected from the FS despite their so-called need for Mandarin speakers.

  2. […] Dream Deferred (whitneyh2013.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

